Saying Goodbye

As our Indigenous Health and Healing class comes to an end, I can honestly say it has been one of the most influential courses I have taken in four years of University. I also believe that learning the culture of our First Nations people is something every Canadian should know.

I would like to take a moment to congratulate our Instructor Ashlee Cunsolo Willox.The work you have put into this class, the guest speakers, the shared information, the desire to connect people to each other is more than a “teaching” job. Your disposition is inviting to all. I thank you.

One of our last assignments as a class was to hold a panel discussion surrounding the idea of “Indigenizing” Cape Breton University. Our panelists included, Dean Stephen Augustine, Janice Basque, and Elder Albert Marshall. Not only did these wonderful people agree to come, but, the discussion was open and honest, and lined with humor. What I took most from this talk was the generosity of the panelists to unite all people. To share in the knowledge, to make everyone feel included, and to talk frankly about changes that need to come to fruition in order to make Mi kmaq culture a main stream subject in all schools.

I am extremely proud to have been a small part of this class. Every one of my classmates was open and generous of spirit. Every guest speaker was outstanding in their talks to our class. I will miss this class, but, I will have taken away information, appreciation, and a genuine love of First Nations culture I will never forget.

Leave a comment