The Journey

As the middle of November draws near, our class on Indigenous Perspectives on health and healing draws near as well. I cannot express with mere words what an impact this class has made on me.

Dean Stephen Augustine, you taught us the Creation Story, the real meaning of humbleness, and a strong hope for the future. But most importantly, you led by example on how to approach these subjects with understanding and humor.

Ken Paul, you taught us the Medicine Wheel, the connections between mind, body and spirit. Although I could never presume to understand it all, I do know that I check my own life for balance now. I try to not let one thing overpower another in my life. To remember how much our families mean to us, and to give thanks to the Creator. To “stop and smell the roses”.

Tuma Young, you took us on a “Medicine Walk”. Since then, I have gone on the same walk by myself many times. I do it to give myself a quick reconnect with nature.To, if only for a few minutes, breathe in the fresh fragrant air of the woods , loving the sound the crunching leaves make under my feet and giggling to myself at the name you used to describe a small plant with berries. ”Itchy –bum plant” you said.

I have grown to deeply respect and appreciate how our First Nations people view the earth, their history of perseverance, and the connection with the earth.

If everyone would take a minute to revitalize their spirit, learn just a little of the wonderful culture our First Nations people have, we would be living in a whole different world.

Leave a comment