Much appreciation

My experience of the Indigenous Perspectives on Health and Healing course has been an amazing one that I am truly grateful for having. It is my opinion that everyone should have a course of this nature at some point in their educational careers. It has provided me with a new outlook on the meaning of cultural competence and the need to practice this premise; as well, it has provided me with a greater understanding of the meaning of holistic health. In addition to this it has given me a great opportunity to try and inspire change where it is needed.

This past week I was privileged enough to take part in the Nation2Nation Speaker Series held at Cape Breton University (CBU), based on Indigenizing the University. In collaboration with my fellow classmates we came up with the desire to make a change here at CBU and to put the knowledge, and inspiration we have gained over the semester to great use. As well in collaboration with our professor the amazing Ashlee Cunsolo Willox, we attained an inspiring panel of speakers comprised of Dean of Unama’ki College Stephen Augustine, Elder Albert Marshall, and Janice Basque. Together these three were able to provide great perspective on the need for change, the importance of Indigenizing the University, and as well some priorities in their opinions on how to make the change happen. We attracted a crowd of faculty, students, and community member alike. This event was a great success and I believe we all really made a push for transformation.

I am truly grateful having had the opportunity to influence change, and leave, hopefully, somewhat of a mark on this University that has been such a big part of my life over the past 6 years. It is my hope that someday it will become a requirement, much like other universities in Canada, to obtain an Indigenous peoples course in order to graduate. This is important in my outlook to do so to create a better well-rounded society that promotes acceptance, and provides people the opportunity to reach their fullest potential.

Leave a comment