Making a Difference

Since I have been learning of the First Nations peoples and Indigenous culture I have taken it upon myself to share the knowledge I have gained with the people around me (not only my grandparents). My family are a big part of my life, and the fact that they, from my influence, have become inspired to learn more about the Indigenous people is amazing.

For example, my niece couldn’t wait to share the news with me that people came to her school and lit the “stage on fire”. She then, with the help of my sister, explained it was in fact “SAGE” not the stage that was lit on fire. People had come to her school to teach the students a little bit about Indigenous culture, and they performed a smudging ceremony in which they burned sage. The thing that I brought away from this was that there are efforts being made to introduce today’s children to the ways of life of Indigenous people, and their culture. My family have also taken it upon themselves to inform me of any news they hear of involving the First Nations people or their culture and I am grateful for that.

My sister recently shared an exciting article with me from CBC, “1st-ever First Nations student among 3 Rhodes scholars named at U of A” (CBC/Radio-Canada, 2015), displaying a young man by the name of Billy-Ray Belcourt. He is 21 years old and is from the reserve community of the Driftpile First Nation, north of Edmonton and is currently attending the University of Alberta. Belcourt is Canada’s first ever First Nations student to receive a Rhodes Scholarship to attend Oxford University in England. This is a very prestigious award, and an amazing accomplishment which he intends to take full advantage of.

Belcourt in my opinion is a very inspiring person and a great role model for the First Nations youth, as well as the youth of Canada in general to show what hard work and determination can get you.

It is my hope that people, like myself and Billy-Ray Belcourt, are out their advocating for and creating change. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not out there winning Rhodes Scholarships, but it is my belief that even me affecting my families views and helping them grow their knowledge surrounding Indigenous culture makes a difference. Who knows, maybe I’ve created a snowball effect, and the people I have helped change are out there doing the same. We have got to be the change we want to see in the world, and every little bit helps.

Leave a comment